Effective January 1, 2017, the Massachusetts Public Records Law, G.L. ch.66 and ch. 4, sec7(26) provides that a municipality must, within 10 business days (Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays), respond to a request for records by providing access to or a copy of such records, or explaining any delay or denial.
Public Records Law Information. General information about the public records law and public records requests is found in the Secretary of the Commonwealth’s, “A Guide to the Massachusetts Public Records Law,” January 2017 edition, found online at:
Questions often asked about the Student Record Regulations:
As of January 1, 2020, Maynard Public Schools will be charging fees as stated in the above link for the retrieval, production and delivery of public records.
Categories of Permissible Charges - Permissible charges include, but are not limited to:
a. five cents ($0.05) per page of black and white printed copies;
b. actual cost for storage on electronic devices such as CDs or thumb/flash drives; no copying fee will be charged for records provided in electronic form;
c. actual cost for duplication of records not reproducible by ordinary means, such as color copies and large format plans;
d. postage fees;
e. fees for employee time required to satisfy a public records request (see below);
f. items that are contained in a student's cumulative file shall not be charged a fee for time spent duplicating such information, but may be charged a per-page fee for copies 603 CMR 23.07(2)(a). Reports, emails, data, etc. that are not part of a student's cumulative file will be charged as stated above.
Employee Fee Time Charges: A fee may be charged for employee time necessary to identify, locate, retrieve, compile and copy the records requested. A fee may also be charged for employee time necessary to review, and as applicable, separate and/or redact information exempt from public release. The hourly rate charged for such tasks shall be the hourly rate of the lowest-paid employee capable of performing the task; provided however, that this hourly rate shall not exceed twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per hour, unless Maynard Public Schools has obtained the approval of the State Supervisor of Public Records to charge a higher hourly rate. Depending upon the nature of the request, different rates may be charged for different types of work (e.g. a different hourly rate for search time and a different hourly rate for segregation/redaction time). 950 CMR 32.07(2)(m)(3) and MGL ch. 66 sec. 10(d)(iii)
Small Municipality Exception: As of the 2010 Decennial Census, the Town of Maynard had 10,106 residents. In accordance with 950 CMR 32.07(2)(m)(2) and MGL ch. 66 sec. 10(d)(iii), therefore, Maynard Public Schools may assess fees for all employee time, including the first two hours.